The star signs on

I got some great news today. My first choice for the lead actor in Electric Town has just mailed me to tell me that he’s agreed to be in the movie. Imazawa-san is the proprietor of the cafe Iihatoobo in Shimokitazawa where I used to spend many hours working and hanging out.

I’m very happy about this. Of course, I had some alternatives in mind, but I was hoping that Imazawa-san would go for it. I think he’s got something that will really help to make the movie special. It’s the kind of quality that you could audition dozens of actors and still never quite nail. In fact, he was my first choice for the role before I even finished the script.

The other parts will be easier to cast, since they are all fairly minor roles. Except the robot dog itself, of course, which is currently taking shape as a heap of plywood and bolts in the tiny basement storage room in my apartment building.

But that’s something for another post.

Leave a Reply

