Rubber legs

Well, the good news is that the model is looking pretty much the way I had envisioned. No head or tail yet, but the body and legs are taking shape. And, a more qualified bit of good news is that it’s very poseable. Sitting position. lying position, standing, etc. And the legs at least are all strong enough to hold their own positions pretty well.

The bad news, unfortunately, is the model as a whole is not quite able to stand on its own feet. It almost can, but the joints are just not strong enough to support the body’s weight for very long. This is a bit disappointing. I already knew I’d need to use supports of some kind for much of the animation, but I had kind of hoped that for some simple still shots I’d be able to just stand or sit the model and just composite in moving parts.  Now it looks like I will need to come up with some general means of supporting the model.

I came across some nice self-locking hooks designed to hang artwork, which would probably work to hold model up in some kind of frame, but putting up a frame like that seems like it would be best in a studio. I’d like to come up with some more portable way to hold the model up using some kind of small adjustable stands, so that I can do some shots of the model on location (other shots will be done in a studio).

I can picture exactly what I want. Some simple, small metal stands with adjustable lengths. Like a  mic stand for a Ken doll (a little bigger, I guess, but you get the idea). I suppose I’ll have to figure out a way to build these myself, because I can’t think of anything obvious on the market that quite fits this definition. I’m open to suggestions.

It looks like I’ll have to take another wander around the hardware store.

 

5 Responses to “Rubber legs”

  1. Great work.
    it looks a huge dog. For curiosity whats is his scale? it looks more than 50cm height.

  2. Thanks. Yes, it’s pretty big, but not quite as big as it looks. It’s 45 cm from the tip of the shoulder to the floor, standing. With the head, it might get to nearly 50 cm to the tip of the head. I think the small size of the table and the cramped room make it look slightly bigger.

    I’ve been cutting out areas of unnecessary plywood, and I’m planning on making the head out of maybe styrofoam and/or balsa wood to get it all as light as possible. These weight issues are obviously why people usually do stop-motion with miniatures, but I think I can make this work.

  3. Braustache Says:

    You need to hang it from wires so’s it can fly.

  4. Yeah, I think I will hang it from wires at some point, actually. Question is what to hang the wires from…

  5. Really looking good! 😉

    I wonder though how everything would turn out, I don’t have a fair grasp of the development yet. I’d have to dig further on this blog.

    -Reyn

Leave a Reply

